Overview

Location & map

Reviews (16) 9.2

Apartment reviews

16 reviews to take away any doubts. Thanks to all our customers for their ratings and reviews. We hope their comments, compliments, and occasional complaints, help you choose your ideal stay.

Realtime,
uncensored reviews
Total score
Check-in / check-out 9.6
Cleaning 9.6
Comfort 9.1
Value for money 8.6
9.2

Sort by:

Anonymous, mature couple, Madrid, Spain I 19 Aug 2013

"The apartment is very well located, is spacious, clean and not very well attended by Martin. In addition the building is wonderful only would perhaps add you air conditioning, although it is not absolutely necessary"

"El apartamento está muy bien situado, es espacioso, limpio y Martin no atendió muy bien. Además el edificio es una maravilla Sólo le añadiría tal vez aire acondicionado, aunque no es absolutamente necesario"

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 10
Comfort 10
Value for money 8
9.5
Esther, family with mature children, Breda, Netherlands I 16 Jul 2013

"We loved everything about the apartment: the inside with the nice high-standard design, modern yet warm and cosy, lots of space, the private garden with some sunshine during the afternoon but mostly lots of shadow whitch was very welcome on the hot days, the large common garden with a lovely view of the city and the fact there was a concierge 24/7. The apartment does not have airconditioning but still it stayed nice and cool inside while it was very hot outside. The location was perfect, lots of cafes and restaurants nearby as well as some of the sights, the trainstation(s), trams, metro and supermarket within walking distance. Liz, who met us for the check-in and check-out took her time to tell us everything we wanted and needed to know, had some good tips and made us feel very welcome. People who are looking for lots of silence during their stay might not like the sounds form the music school across the street during the day and the sounds of some music and talking from a cafe near the private garden. For us those were nice holiday sounds that gave the place it's own unique sound but I can imagine not everbody would feel the same way. As soon as the doors to the garden are closed you can hardy hear the sounds though."

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 10
Comfort 10
Value for money 10
10
Servaes, mature couple, Wijdewormer, Netherlands I 01 Oct 2012

"Very tastefully decorated apartment. Nice stylish apartment in a beautiful old monastery. A nice private terrace and a beautiful garden (shared) where you can sit with a view of the city. The owner did hard at the reception. We had to pick up somewhere in the city because he saved him not to come to the apartment because of a party what he had that night. This gave unnecessary hassle and stress because it was very busy (Saturday night) and we could not reach the place where we had agreed about a deposition. At the check-out was the one who would do that again half an hour late. They also asked if we had made nothing broken. After we went they had negative things check. Unsympathetic! Further, and this is important to mention in the description, the apartment is great! The festivities of Bairro alto comes with ease by double glass. You hear walking the upstairs neighbours and to make matters worse there is a music school (Conservatory or) next to the apartment. Annoying honking of various wind instruments make you especially want to quickly the apartment."

"Zeer smaakvol ingericht appartement. Mooi stijlvol appartement in een prachtig oud klooster. Een leuk privé terras en een prachtige tuin(gedeeld) waar je ook kan zitten met uitzicht over de stad. De eigenaar deed moeilijk bij de ontvangst. We moesten hem ergens in de stad oppikken want hij redde het niet om naar het appartement te komen ivm een feestje wat hij die avond had. Dit gaf onnodig gedoe en stress omdat het heel druk was(zaterdagavond) en wij de plek waar we hadden afgesproken niet konden bereiken ivm een afzetting. Bij de uitcheck was diegene die dat zou doen weer een half uur te laat. Ze vroeg ook of we niks kapot hadden gemaakt. Nadat we ontkennend geantwoord hadden ging ze alsnog de boel controleren. Onsympathiek! Verder, en dit is denk ik belangrijk om in de beschrijving te vermelden, is het appartement ontzettend gehorig! Het feestgedruis van Bairro alto komt met gemak door het dubbele glas heen. Je hoort het lopen van de bovenburen en tot overmaat van ramp is er een muziekschool (of conservatorium) naast het appartement. Irritant getoeter van diverse blaasinstrumenten maken dat je vooral snel het appartement uit wil."

 
Check-in / check-out 4
Cleaning 10
Comfort 7
Value for money 6
6.8

“Bedankt voor je review, Servaes. Het feit dat je wat vertraging had tijdens het oppikken van de huurauto en wat last had van verkeersopbrekingen is behoorlijk vervelend, we begrijpen dat dit voor een stressvolle check-in zorgde. Wij bieden hier graag ons excuus voor aan. De manager heeft standaard procedures voor de check-out die hij moet opvolgen om te controleren of het appartement schadeloos is achtergelaten voor de volgende gasten. De ´Bairro Alto´ staat bekend om zijn levendige omgeving maar gelukkig heeft dit appartement goede isolatie inclusief dubbele beglazing. Voel je vrij om contact met ons op te nemen voor een volgend passend verblijf. Wij zijn in ieder geval blij dat je het naar je zin hebt gehad in het stijlvolle São Boaventura appartement!”

ALAIN, mature couple, SAINT-MALO, France I 03 May 2012

"the apartment is situated within an old convent... so that gave it a nice old touch we! We found it quiet. There's indeed a nightclub close to the apartment... but once you close the double glazing window, it's fine, unless you are obsessed with having perfect silence like in a tomb! It's a fine apartment, lots of space. We found the bed excellent with lot of room. the kitchen has everything you need and the man in charge, Martin, is extremely friendly and helpful. for those who are, like me, fans of the Portuguese poet, Fernando Pessoa, the convent is right next to the hospital Saint Louis where he died... as for the rental in the Bairro Alto, it's perfect. The apartment is located in an old convent... which has added a nice touch! the apartment is quiet, even if there is a night club nearby. but once the double-glazed windows are closed, it is ok, unless you want to have a perfect as in a grave silence! This is a beautiful apartment with plenty of space. the bed is excellent, comfortable and big. There is everything you need in the kitchen. the owner, Martin, is very welcoming and caring that your stay goes smoothly. for those, who like me, are fans of the great Portuguese poet, Fernando Pessoa, the convent is located next to the Saint-Louis Hospital where he died. for what is the situation of the apartment in the neighborhood of Bairro Alto, this is perfect. be warned that you can use ONLY ONE electrical appliance at a time in the kitchen, otherwisqe the fuse will blow... Once you know it, it's fine! Know that in the kitchen, you must use that one electric element (i.e. the electric cooker or toaster etc.) at a time, at the risk of making blow a fuse. You should just know!"

"the appartment is situated within an old convent....so that gave we it a nice old touch! we found it quiet. there's indeed a night club close to the appartment...but once you close the double glazing window, it's fine, unless you are obsessed with having perfect silence like in a tomb!!! it's a fine appartment, lots of space. we found the bed excellent with lot of room. the kitchen has everything you need and the man in charge, Martin, is extremely friendly and helpful. for those who are, like me, fans of the Portuguese poet, Fernando Pessoa, the convent is right next to the hospital Saint-Louis where he died... as for the location in the Bairro Alto, it's perfect. L'appartement est situé dans un vieux couvent...ce qui a rajouté une petite touche sympa! l'appartement est calme, même s'il y a un night club tout près. mais une fois les fenêtres à double vitrage fermées, c'est ok, à moins que vous ne vouliez avoir un silence parfait comme dans une tombe!!! c'est un bel appartement avec beaucoup d'espace. le lit est excellent, confortable et grand. il y a tout ce dont vous avez besoin dans la cuisine. le propriètaire, Martin, est très accueillant et bienveillant à ce que votre séjour se passe bien. pour ceux, qui comme moi, sont fans du grand poète portuguais, Fernando Pessoa, le couvent est situé juste à côté de l'hôpital Saint-Louis où il est décèdé. pour ce qui est de la situation de l'appartement dans le quartier du Bairro Alto, c'est parfait. be warned that you can use ONLY ONE electrical appliance at a time in the kitchen, otherwisqe the fuse will blow... once you know it, it's fine! Sachez que dans la cuisine, vous ne devez uttiliser qu'un seul élément électrique (soit la gazinière électrique, soit le grille pain etc.) à la fois, au risque de faire sauter un fusible. il faut juste le savoir!"

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 10
Comfort 10
Value for money 8
9.5
Anonymous, family with young children, Amsterdam, Netherlands I 05 Apr 2012

"Clean, nicely decorated, private outdoor terrace, impressive entrance, fine location"

"Schoon, mooi ingericht, eigen buitenterras, indrukwekkend entree, prima locatie"

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 10
Comfort 8
Value for money 7
8.8
Anonymous, group of friends, Harwich, United Kingdom I 25 Oct 2011

"Nice apartment, good area, helpful owner, nice staff, all mod cons."

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 10
Comfort 10
Value for money 10
10
Karen, mature couple, Moorrege, Germany I 20 Oct 2011

"comfortable and spacious massive noise pollution by opposite music pub and music school"

"komfortabel und geräumig massive Lärmbelästigung durch gegenüberliegende Musikkneipe und Musikschule"

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 10
Comfort 10
Value for money 8
9.5
Ursula, mature couple, Bern, Switzerland I 03 Oct 2011

"Tastefully decorated, comfortable bed and comfortable armchairs. A beautiful outdoor space. Wonderful atmosphere in the building. Centrally located in one of the most beautiful districts with small shops to buy fruit, bread and breakfast ingredients. Weekends (Friday and Saturday) night life even with closed Windows was very good and long audible. Earplugs made the night's sleep! Alternative: yourself--whatever our age does not necessarily demand is. A week with no night noise, so no biggie."

"Geschmackvoll eingerichtet, bequemes Bett und bequeme Sessel. Traumhafter Aussenraum . Wunderbare Atmosphäre im Gebäude. Zentrale Lage in einem der schönsten Stadtteile mit kleinen Läden zum Einkaufen von Brot, Frühstückzutaten und Früchten. Am Wochenende (Freitag und Samstag) war das Nachtleben auch bei geschlossenen Fenstern sehr gut und lange hörbar. Oropax brachte die Nachtruhe! Alternative: selbst dabei sein - was in unserem Alter nicht mehr unbedingt gefragt ist. Die Woche durch kein Nachtlärm, also insgesamt kein grosses Problem."

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 8
Comfort 10
Value for money 10
9.5
Amanda, mature couple, Fowlmere, United Kingdom I 13 Sep 2011

"Gracious and easy check-in check-out Building features architecturally stunning Apartment equipped to a high standard with items of high quality and good taste None of the owner's 'stuff' about Very clean Please and spacious patio As would be expected in the night-life district in good weather, very noisy - shouting, cheering, throwing bottles until 4 a.m. - all of which reverberate off big stone walls. Very strong sewage smell arises from loo"

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 10
Comfort 8
Value for money 10
9.5
Anonymous, mature couple, Erftstadt, Germany I 20 Jun 2011

"very central location luxury living in an old monastery * equipped kitchen with high quality appliances * the own courtyard was especially nice * during the day could be heard "musical exercises" a music school or similar"

"sehr zentrale Lage*luxoriöses Wohnen in einer alten Klosteranlage* Küche mit hochwertigen Elektrogeräten ausgestattet* besonders schön war der eigene Innenhof* tagsüber hörte man " musikalische Übungen " einer Musikschule o.ä."

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 8
Comfort 10
Value for money 8
9.0
Guy, solo traveller, Tel-Aviv, Israel I 14 Jun 2011

"beautiful apartment in a great location. kitchen well equipped. very elegant interior design. impressive and secluded building with peacefull wide private gardens and amazing view over the city. apartment is located right across from the city music conservatory. every day except sunday, starting from 9:00 am it was impossible to keep sleeping because of the cacafonie of various music instruments. I would consider the stay twice for late and light sleepers."

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 8
Comfort 7
Value for money 7
8.0
Caroline, group of friends, Paris, France I 15 May 2011

"Everything! The location, the comfort, modernity and cleanliness of the place and the facilities, but especially the private terrace which is very nice. Many thanks to Stephanie, the hostess, for his kindness, help and advice on arrival. Nothing! We hear noise from the street and bars, but it is the atmosphere of the quarter and we chose him for this! This never disturbed us, and anyway, once the window is closed, it hears more nothing."

"Tout ! L'emplacement, le confort, la modernité et la propreté du lieu et des equipements, mais surtout la terrasse privative qui est très agréable. Un grand merci à Stephanie, la maitresse des lieux, pour sa gentillesse, son aide et ses conseils dès l'arrivée. Rien ! On entend les bruits de la rue et des bars, mais c'est l'ambiance du quartier et nous l'avions choisi pour cela ! Cela ne nous a jamais dérangées, et de toute façon, une fois les fenêtres fermées, on n'entend plus rien."

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 10
Comfort 10
Value for money 10
10

+1 646 810 8678


Call us for a quick
answer to all your questions

  • Customer service before, during and after your stay
  • Secure payments, peace of mind
  • Real-time booking with automatic email confirmation