Overview

Location & map

Reviews (34) 8.6

Apartment reviews

34 reviews to take away any doubts. Thanks to all our customers for their ratings and reviews. We hope their comments, compliments, and occasional complaints, help you choose your ideal stay.

Realtime,
uncensored reviews
Total score
Check-in / check-out 8.6
Cleaning 8.4
Comfort 8.7
Value for money 8.8
8.6

Sort by:

Ray, young couple, Aberdeen, United Kingdom I 29 Oct 2014

"Fantastic stay. Fantastic location. Little bit of noise tho. Would defo recommend."

 
Check-in / check-out 8
Cleaning 8
Comfort 10
Value for money 10
9.0
Anonymous, family with mature children, Dublin, Ireland I 14 May 2014

"Very nice location in the centre of Madrid, on Plaza de Espana. The apartment is quaint, and has all of the modern utilities. Miguel was lovely and very helpful to us. Yes, there are a number of steps to get to the apartment, however these should be no issue to anyone if your healthy. Its in a very old building, of course there is not going to be a lift! The only little fault of this apartment is the steps up to the bedroom. They are quite dangerous. If you wake up in the middle of the night it is quite hard to maneuver down them without turning on the lights. Even with the lights they are a bit scary. We just left the bathroom light on at all times. Another slight issue we had was the wifi code. Its not written down anywhere in the apartment. It is 26 characters numbers and letters, we copied this down wrong off Miguel. Although we rang him and he called it out to us and it eventually worked.So a bit of advice is to get your devices connected when he is there and take care copying down the code. Otherwise its a lovely apartment and in a great location, I would recommend it to anyone who is able for the steps. We will be returning!"

 
Check-in / check-out 8
Cleaning 8
Comfort 10
Value for money 10
9.0
Amanda, mature couple, York, United Kingdom I 14 Apr 2014

"The central location of this trendy flat was great. We loved it and would stay there again. There is always something happening below your balcony - one day the king and all his horses and men rode by! Another, Barcelona FC fans were singing and dancing. It was exciting and relaxing - all at the same time. You are directly opposite the Mercado de San Miguel so there is always fab food and tapas on hand. 2 bikes are available to help you get round. It is worth noting that there are a lot of stairs and no lift. For most of us this is a good thing because you'll eat and drink too much! 80 steps up to apartment and the stairs to the bedroom mezzinine would probably not get through UK "health and safety", should not be attempted in the dark or by the infirm. Having said that - for goodness sake we're all adults! It could have been a bit cleaner; the half eaten bag of crisps and loaf of bread left from previous guests and the washed linen left to dry for us to put away are perhaps not what you'd expect. But again - hardly ruined our holiday! To sum up: Great position to pretend you're are one of the Beautiful Young of Madrid for a week!"

 
Check-in / check-out 8
Cleaning 7
Comfort 8
Value for money 10
8.3
Anonymous, family with mature children, Bogota, Colombia I 09 Jan 2014

"Actually at first glance the apartment is nice and tourists this very well located although they never say which is not on the second floor, but in the third and to reach the first have to climb 3 three flights of stairs. The worst thing is the State of the pillows sincerely they disgust and everyone left with rhinitis. In addition to lowering of the second level there is no railing and is very dangerous at night because the stairs are very uncomfortable "

"Realmente a primera vista el apartamento es bonito y para los turistas esta muy bien situado aunque nunca dicen que no esta en el segundo piso sino en el tercer y para llegar al primero hay que subir 3 TRES tramos de escaleras. Lo peor es el estado de las almohadas sinceramente dan asco y todos salimos con rinitis. Adicionalmente para bajar del segundo nivel no hay baranda y es muy peligroso de noche porque las escaleras son muy incomodas "

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 4
Comfort 7
Value for money 6
6.8
Asier, family with young children, artea , Spain I 28 Oct 2013

"Everything has been perfect, again to the same apartment. Thank you."

"Todo ha estado perfecto, volvere al mismo apartamento. Gracias."

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 10
Comfort 10
Value for money 10
10
Bronwen, solo traveller, Caulfield North, Australia I 22 Oct 2013

"Pros :The apartment is very hip and has really funky industrial art. The loft bedroom's ceiling was not as low as it looks in the photo. I am 165 cms tall/short and I could walk easily. The stairs to the loft are fine as long as you go down them in a two stages. The kitchen appliances were great. The couch was very comfortable for lounging on. Lots of travel guides for referencing. I was allowed to check out later than 11 am. There are bikes for you to use ( down the bottom of the stairs) The internet is super fast On check in Miguel was charming and very helpful. Cons: When I arrived Miguel did not know how much I owed and did not give me a receipt. The last tenants laundry – linen for two double beds , towels and tea towels were wet on a clothes rack in the lounge room and I had to make sure it dried, then fold it and put it away. The knives were so blunt that I could not cut fruit with them. I couldn’t get the tv to work but that may be my lack of remote control knowledge. I was expecting a 2nd floor apartment there are around 80 stairs to it though, they are not particularly steep stairs but it not up only two flights of stairs. Miguel got my check out day wrong and did not turn up , he was not available by phone or email. I understand that mistakes happen, it is how they are rectified that matter to me. I am very satisfied with how waytostay helped me but not so happy with the owners handling of it. With some better time planning from the owner this could be a wonderful place to stay. "

 
Check-in / check-out 4
Cleaning 6
Comfort 8
Value for money 8
6.5
Sharon, mature couple, Mackay, Australia I 25 Sep 2013

"Just a great experience all round. Miguel was a terrific host and went out of his way to make our very early check out easy. The apartment was spacious, well laid out and perfect for a couple and maybe 4. There was much said by previous reviews regarding the stairs and bedroom. If you want to stay in a character filled, traditional style of apartment you must accept that there are stairs, lots of them. That's just part of the experience. The bedroom would be difficult for those with limited mobility, sure but for us middle aged, in reasonable health it is no problem. Just be sure to hold the railing on the way down to the living area. The location of this apartment is exceptional, being just of the Plaza Mayor and across the street from the Mercado San Miguel (a must for beer and tapas). It is also a 5 min walk to Sol which is always heaving with people. We loved this apartment and would stay here again in a heartbeat. Nothing! Honestly, just book it. You will not be sorry."

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 10
Comfort 10
Value for money 10
10
Anonymous, group of friends, berlin, Germany I 09 Sep 2013

Anonymous rated his/her apartment stay, but didn’t leave any extra comments…

 
Check-in / check-out 8
Cleaning 7
Comfort 8
Value for money 8
7.8
Sara, family with young children, Cooma, Australia I 24 Jul 2013

"The apartment was perfect for our family! And the location was excellent - just across the road from San Miguel Markets and next door to Plaza Mayor. We were able to walk to many of the places that we wanted to see. It was also good for the runner in our family as the area was safe and there were lots of places to see while running. The stairs to the mezzanine level were a bit too narrow making it difficult to navigate them in the dark."

 
Check-in / check-out 8
Cleaning 8
Comfort 10
Value for money 10
9.0
Anonymous, mature couple, zeerijp, Netherlands I 20 Apr 2013

"location, very central! charming apartment. Wi-Fi just fine. we had rented including cycling, this turned out not to be available 2 days, we got a fee of way to stay to rent bikes. bad beds, the double bed is only a hard mattress which is a plywood panel.. the sofa bed, was of poor quality, and old, thin mattress. the Wi-Fi was concerned of the neighbor, is in itself no objection, until the wifi fails and the neighbor there turns out to be.."

"ligging,zeer centraal! sfeervol appartement. wifi prima. we hadden gehuurd inclusief fietsen, deze bleken 2 dagen niet beschikbaar te zijn, we kregen een vergoeding van way to stay om fietsen te huren. slechte bedden, het 2 persoonsbed is alleen een hard matras welke ligt op een multiplex plaat.. de slaapbank, was van slechte kwaliteit,en oud,dun matrasje. de wifi werd betrokken van de buurman, is op zich geen bezwaar,totdat de wifi uitvalt en de buurman er niet blijkt te zijn.."

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 8
Comfort 6
Value for money 8
8.0
Paul, mature couple, Goonellabah, Australia I 12 Apr 2013

"The location is excellent. The space in the apartment is great for two people. The kitchen facilities are very good. The sleeping area is on a mezzanine level and there is a very low ceiling in the space. There is obviously a water leak from above as there is a damp area in the ceiling. The steps leading to the mezzanine are very steep."

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 10
Comfort 8
Value for money 8
9.0
Estefania, group of friends, Bienne, Switzerland I 28 Mar 2013

"We were perfectly centered. The person of contact was very cooperative and very friendly. We had power cuts repeatedly. The construction of the apartment is not well made for chauffager, if we tune the heating down it was good but top it was just impossible to get to bed, because it was so hot that it was impossible to breathe, so we had to stop the heating to be able to ride, but people who slept at the bottom was cold... The stairs are very narrow and many mount (3etages) not easy of the all with suitcases."

"Nous étions parfaitement centré. La personne de contact à été très coopérative et très sympathique. Nous avons eu des coupures de courant à plusieurs reprises. La construction de l'appartement n'est pas bien faite pour chauffager, Si nous allumions le chauffage en bas il faisait bon mais en haut il était juste impossible de monter se mettre au lit, car il faisait tellement chaud que c'était impossible de respirer, donc nous devions arrêter le chauffage pour pouvoir monter, mais les personnes qui dormaient en bas avait froid... Les escaliers sont très étroits et beaucoup a monter (3étages) pas facile du tous avec des valises."

 
Check-in / check-out 10
Cleaning 8
Comfort 7
Value for money 6
7.8

+1 646 810 8678


Call us for a quick
answer to all your questions

  • Customer service before, during and after your stay
  • Secure payments, peace of mind
  • Real-time booking with automatic email confirmation